Ask the Umpire


Question: if a batsmen is batting outside his crease and receives a full-toss above waist height is it a no-ball?

Answer: The Law states “standing upright at the crease”. Umpires are instructed that “the crease” is to be interpreted as “where the batsman takes his stance”. So, if to negate the swing, a batsman bats half a metre out of his ground, the crease is half a metre out of his ground. If the batsman chooses to charge the bowler as he delivers and a full pitch is produced, the umpire would need to determine if the ball would have passed above waist high – at the crease – not where the batsman’s charge led him to receive the ball. Not always easy to do.

Please follow and like us: