New to Cricket – Start Here

Cricket in the Sutherland Shire is thriving through the excellent competitions provided by both the Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket Association (juniors) and the Sutherland Shire Cricket Association (seniors). The Engadine Dragons Cricket Club has had steady player registrations at both junior and senior level since the 2002/03 season.

Cricket is a fantastic opportunity to participate in a great Australian sport. The Australian Cricket Team is so strong today because of the development that goes on at club level – and Engadine Dragons is proud to be a part of this.

Senior cricket through the Sutherland Shire Cricket Association (seniors) provides a graded competition generally from A1 to A3, B1 to B9 and C1 to C3. These grades may vary from season to season depending on registration numbers.

Engadine Dragons has a strong senior division and can provide the opportunity for players of various abilities to compete at a level they are capable of. The SSCA administers the competition.

Junior cricket is split into age groups (U8, U10, U12, U14, U16) and played amongst various differing rules to allow all levels of players to participate. The three levels are Mod, Modified and Traditional.

Junior cricket is played on Saturdays throughout the Shire. There are 10 rounds and each match takes 2 Saturday’s to complete.

Children can play from age 6 onwards. In U8’s, we play a form of Mod 8 Cricket, also called average cricket. The goal of Mod cricket is participation. All players are given an equal opportunity to play.

Mod 8 Cricket has been designed to meet the needs of boys and girls under 8 years that are playing their first year of cricket.

The main aim of Mod 8 Cricket is to make sure that all players are given an equal opportunity to participate in the game irrespective of ability. The good player still gets his/her chance to play a leading role in the game, while the less gifted player also gets his/her chance to get involved.

The teams will not compete for competition points (and no points table will be issued by the Competition Manager) so that young players will get their chance to gain experience for their later years without the intensity that the pressure of competition brings.

Mod 8 Cricket is played on a shorten pitch of 15 metres and play with a soft rebound ball. Everyone bats in pairs that lasts for 6 overs. If they are dismissed, the pair swaps end and continue batting for their 6 overs. If a players loses their wicket, then the team score goes down by 3 runs. No LBW’s are given. All players need to bowl a minimum of 3 overs before any child can bowl a fourth. No balls and wides are given, but the players does not need to rebowl the ball.

Mod 10 Cricket is an introduction to the basic skills of the game where the emphasis is on developing all-round skills and the maximum opportunity to participate in all aspects of the game. The winning team is determined on the better of the two teams ‘net’ score.

Mod 10 Cricket is played in U10’s D, E & F grades, but they use a proper cricket ball, wear helmets and play on a 18m pitch. Again, participation is key for these players.
EDCC Photo

Modified cricket is defined as a stepping stone to traditional cricket wherein the aim is to increase participation in all aspects of the game through the use of “rotating batting” and maximisation of bowlers. While the aim is to win, winning is secondary to developing skills, maximising enjoyment, and ensuring that all players get sufficient grounding to advance to traditional cricket with confidence and enthusiasm. .

Our U10A’s – C’s, and all 12’s, 14’s and 16’s play Traditional Cricket. Traditional Cricket is the same as you would see the Australian cricket team play and the game follows the rules set down by the MCC. Some age groups and grades play Split Innings, which allows both team to bat and bowl each Saturday – thereby reducing the number of hours in the field.

The full rules for each age is available here.

The structure is listed below:

Age Group Under 8’s Under 10’s Under 12’s Under 14’s and 16’s
Level Played All U8’s play Modified Cricket U10A’s, B’s and C’s may play Traditional Cricket and U10D’s, E’s and F’s played Mod 10 Cricket. U12’A, B’s, C’s and D’s play traditional cricket and 12E’s may play Mod 12 Cricket. All U14’s and 16’s play Traditional Cricket
Game Details All U8’s
Start Time: Either 8:30 or 10:15am
Duration: 1.5 hours
Overs: 24
Start Time: 8:00am
Duration: 3 hours
Overs: 50
U10B’s & C’s
Start Time: 8:00am or 10:00am
Duration: 2 hours
Overs: 35
U10D’s, E’s and F’s
Start Time: 8:00am or 10:00am
Duration: 2 hours
Overs 30
U12A’s and B’s
Start Time: 8:00am
Duration: 3 hours
Overs: 50
U12C’s and D’s
Start Time: 8:00am or 10:10am
Duration: 3 hours
Overs: 50
U12E’s and F’s
Start Time: 11:10am
Duration: 2 hours
Overs 35
Start Time: 8:30am
Duration: 3.5 hours
Overs: 60
U16B’s, C’s, D’s & All U14’s
Start Time: 8:00am
Duration: 3 hours
Overs: 50
Age Qualification Doesn’t turn 8 until after 1st September 2015 Doesn’t turn 10 until after 1st September 2015 Doesn’t turn 12 until after 1st September 2015 For 14’s, doesn’t turn 14 until after 1st September 2015. For 16’s, doesn’t turn 16 until after 1st September 2015.

Please note, the competition structure is decided at the start of the season and the above is an indication of previous seasons and is subject to change.